Ich staub mich selber ab …

 

Nothing’s impossible, I have found
For when my chin is on the ground.
I pick myself up,
I dust myself off
And start all over again.

Don’t lose your confidence If you slip
Be grateful for a pleasant trip
And pick yourself up,
Dust yourself off
And start all over again.

Work like a soul inspired
Until the battle of the day is won.
You may be sick and tired,
But you’ll be a man, my son.

Will you remember the famous men
Who had to fall to rise again
So picked themselves up
And dust themselves off
And start’d all over again.

 

Heute war wieder ein etwas dunkler Tag, an dem auch die Tabletten nicht wirklich halfen. Darum habe ich mir diesen alten Jazz-Standard immer wieder angehört. Geschrieben wurde das Lied 1936 von Jerome Kern und Dorothy Fields – in einer Zeit also, die nun auch nicht gerade dafür berühmt ist, dass es den Leuten gut ging. Anita O’Day nahm das Lied 1956 für ihr Album „Pick yourself up with Anita O’Day“ (Verve) auf-

Sie wurde einmal gefragt, warum sie als so schwierig gelte, darauf meinte sie, sie sei gar nicht schwierig, sie gehe nur davon aus, dass jeder wisse, was er zu tun habe; sie wisse das ja auch.

Den Text zitierte Barack Obama bei seiner Antrittsrede 2009: „Starting today, we must pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off, and begin again the work of remaking America.“

Na, wenn das so ist – dann werde ich mich mal abstauben ….

Kommentar verfassen

